top of page

F*** Fake Friends


We all had a moment in our lives when we were being associated with people we considered friends but turned out not be real ones, to the extent we needed them to be. Friends that pretended to like us, faked their true character and put a smile on their faces for our success that was not a genuine one. Friends with negative vibes with not a single drop of positivity.


Few years back, I was associated with “friends” that brought up only the worst in me. At first, I wasn’t even aware of it; every time, after hanging out with them, I would go back home feeling drained, irritated, with an unexplained hatred for people, even people that were complete strangers to me. Those “friends” were the type of people that would comment only something negative about everything in life and regarding every person they would gossip about. They could never be thrilled when I would share happy news with them; if I had success in life, they would be asking dream-killer questions that would wipe out my excitement, bring up a sense of insecurity in me, would make me feel somber and defeated, rather than sharing my happiness, encouraging and supporting me.


Our “friendship” lasted for a long 4-5 years. All these years, I was afraid of setting boundaries; I was so agglutinated into this “friendship” that it never crossed my mind I deserved to have better people next to me; people who love me, understand me and elevate me into being a better person.


We all deserve to be around good people! Life is too short for wasting time with people that are not supportive of you. That being said, when choosing the right friends, it implies making some difficult choices; even being alone with no friends for a while, an insignificant sacrifice for gaining a peace of mind! Once I’ve ended my friendship with these people, I stayed alone, with no one to contact to grab a drink, to talk to. Believe me, we are all in need of some alone time for reconsidering some aspects of life and allowing ourselves to meet new, real friends.






31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page