top of page

A summer’s tale or not?


By Christine


The following story I am going to narrate is a story I’ve told a lot of my friends because I find it really rare and exciting. Sometimes the universe conspires for people to meet again when the time is right. Some people call it destiny or more romantically; kismet. But what life tries to show us is that maybe timing was wrong for some reason and maybe this whole story I’m going to tell should have been left to my imagination.

Our story starts a hot spring when my parents decided to take me and my sister and go visit Rome. At that time I was 17 and even though I love traveling I wasn’t really in the mood to explore the world with my parents. Anyway, we arrived at the airport and went to our gate. While we were waiting to get on board I noticed a group of friends, all boys waiting to get on the same flight as us. They seemed young and I guessed they were college students. I saw them looking at me and they seemed to be talking about me and giggling. Now that I am thinking about it 7 years later, I’m wondering.. how could they be flirting with me I was a teenager I looked hideous. But I think anyone who remembers himself/herself as a teenager now probably thinks the same. I think they were 5 boys and I remember one of them specifically stood out to me. He was tall, blonde with blue eyes. Exactly my type.

We boarded on the plane and I never saw them again until our flight back. There they were again at the airport in Rome. And again goes the flirting, smiling, watching me. Unluckily they couldn’t talk to me because I was with my parents. And then again that gorgeous guy… I was thinking how unlucky I am that I won’t get to meet and talk to him. We arrived home and I couldn’t get him out of my mind. I was thinking of ways to find him on social media(Facebook was the one trending at that time), but I didn’t have a single clue or any information about him. The only thing I knew was that he traveled to Rome for 4 days in April. Ugh, I remember it was torture. I couldn’t do anything but let it go.

About 3 months later, I went camping with my friends at a place we visited every summer. It’s a student camp where only people who go to university can go. And it has a beautiful blue beach, a bar and you meet a lot of amazing people. It wasn’t something new to me it was something we did every summer and we knew a lot of people that went there. It’s simple, you’re at the beach all day sunbathing and swimming and at the bar all night dancing, drinking, making new friends. One day, around 2-3 am me and my friends were at the beach bar drinking and dancing. We were having so much fun when suddenly I felt a hand poking my shoulder. I turned around and I was surprised to see it was him. That tall, blond, blue-eyed guy from the airport with his friend. I acted like I didn’t recognize them for a minute, I didn’t want to be that obvious. But then I told them I knew who they were, and we started talking about Rome, what we saw, what we liked. I felt so overwhelmed. How was that even possible?

He told me he would be staying at the camp for a weekend, but we didn’t exchange any numbers. He told me he’s studying medicine, that he loves to travel and other stuff about him. I was living a dream. I saw him again at the bar the next days until one day we sat together at the beach till dawn talking, hugging, kissing. Now you could say that’s destiny, that’s magic, that’s meant to be. But unfortunately, it wasn’t. He was really handsome and nice but there was no chemistry, no passion, no magic. But it was fun, I am glad to have met him even though I was left disappointed. When you experience a thing like this you think “life is trying to tell me something and this might be destiny”. It still remains a nice story for me. We didn’t keep in touch after that but believe me when I’m telling you I would run into him at the most random places ever since. He kept showing up in my life for quite a while. So I won’t be surprised if I get to see him again soon or in the next years. And maybe it will turn out to be destiny. Who knows?



Take care and remember you are precious!

Don't forget to subscribe for more real-life stories!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page