top of page

How to make your university experience even better!



University! Honesty the best three years of my life! But looking back on my university experience, I am realising that there were so many things that I could have done to make the most of my uni life that I haven’t took advantage of.

I start my bachelor degree at the University of Sunderland when I was 18 years old, studying Business and Management. This was one of the best decisions I have ever made in my entire life. Studying abroad! Yes it was difficult at the beginning, I did not know what to do, where to go, to whom should I talk to… After all, the beginnings are always the hardest, so what you have to do is never give up and keep on going till the very end! And that’s what I did till I got my degree with 2:1. Yes, I know I could have done better but I had other stuff to do as well which I am going to share with you all. Your welcome!

My choice to study in the UK was not accidental. The UK is very diverse, welcoming people from all over the world and has one of the best education systems worldwide. If you ever decide to study in the UK, you will find plenty international students at all universities. This gave me the opportunity to meet a wider variety of people and make good friends from all over the world, with whom I want to believe our friendships will last forever.

However, the key to meet more people from different courses and gain unique experiences, is to join a society. Don’t hesitate! Trust me, I joined only two societies during my studies and I regret not choosing more. I had so much fun not only practising with them but clubbing as well. You will feel like you belong somewhere, it’s like a family, everyone knows everything for everyone and we all had each other’s back. I had to witness and hear many stories I didn’t really want to know though. Don’t worry, I am in the prosses to erase them…

One of the things I regret not doing, is to find a part time job. Being an undergrad student is not all about studying and clubbing, it’s also about start being independent and responsible. In my opinion finding a part time job during your studies is a worthwhile experience, especially for international students. It doesn’t matter if it’s not relevant with your future career it’s still good for your CV that you showed up and let yourself to be exposed. And this not only for people who study abroad but for everyone! Go out there and push yourself beyond your comfort zone. For some of you I know it seems nothing to get a job but there are students out there who afraid working in an environment which is not familiar, maybe they don’t feel confident, maybe it’s the language, maybe they are not risk takers… My advice here is; don’t be afraid of anything! Don’t be afraid to fail, don’t be afraid to take risks, don’t be afraid to start something new! If you don’t try you will never learn what’s your limits are and what you can achieve. Never limit yourself if you want to go forward! Don’t ever forget, whether your idea of fun is clubbing all night or “Netflix and chill”, having fun at university is just as important as getting first class at all your assignments and exams.

So what’s the key to make your university experience even better? And how are you planning to make your university life the most memorable experience you will have in your young adult years? Is it gonna be only studying because your goal is to get distinction? Is it gonna be only clubbing and having fun? Or is it gonna be both and have a program in your life to be able have fun and get a distinction?

56 views1 comment
bottom of page